Wood Awards 2021 winners announced

Wood Awards 2021 winners announced

Press Release · By Wood Awards · 25 November 2021

Six structures and two product designs have been announced as the Wood Awards 2021 winners at a ceremony on 25th November held at The Building Centre in London.

Established in 1971, the Wood Awards is the UK’s premier competition for excellence in architecture and product design in wood. The competition is free to enter and aims to encourage and promote outstanding timber design, craftsmanship and installation.

The independent judging panel visits all the shortlisted projects in person, making this a uniquely rigorous competition.

The Awards are split into two main categories: Buildings and Furniture & Product. Within the Buildings category there are five subcategories and a Structural Award. Furniture & Product is split into Bespoke and Production. The Gold Award is given to the project that the judges deem to be the winner of winners.

Gold Award & Education and Public Sector Winner

Magdalene College Library

The judges chose Magdalene College Library as this year’s Gold Award and Education & Public Sector category winner. Judge Jim Greaves comments, “Magdalene College Library is a tour de force of architectural design and achievement. The different forms of the reading rooms are beautiful and experienced sequentially as they lead one through the building. The brick, timber and stone has been designed exquisitely with a thorough understanding of their intrinsic qualities.”

Location: Cambridge
Architect: Niall McLaughlin Architects
Client: Magdalene College
Structural engineer: Smith & Wallwork
Main contractor: Cocksedge
CLT structure: Eurban Limited
Glulam structure: Neue Holzbau
Joinery: Wedd Joinery Limited
Timber external doors, windows, shutters & cladding: Piper Joinery Limited
Internal timber doors & screens: Trojanwood Joinery Limited
Wood supplier: James Latham
Species: spruce (Switzerland, Austria), oak (Switzerland, Italy, Croatia)

Commercial and Leisure Winner

The Alice Hawthorn

The Commercial & Leisure winner is The Alice Hawthorn. Judge Ruth Slavid comments, “This is modest architecture in a highly achieved manner, with everything thought through carefully. It achieves the desired agricultural character, but this is an agricultural building with a level of sophistication never seen before. The result is a series of delightful buildings where all the judges who saw the project would love to stay.”

Location: Nun Monkton, North Yorkshire
Architect: De Matos Ryan
Structural engineer: Price Myers
Main contractor: GEM Construction
Joinery: Timber Workshop
Wood supplier: East Brothers
Cladding & Windows: Lea & Micklethwaite
Project manager: Russell Pickering
MEP Services: P3r
Species: Douglas fir (UK), Larch (Siberia), poplar plywood (Spain)

Interiors Winner

St John Street

The Interiors winner is St John Street. Judge Jonas Lencer says, “I was impressed by the light touch interventions which gave the warehouse apartment a new identity. The project stands as an example for continued use of a long-lasting, but carbon intensive brick and concrete structure supported by high quality timber interiors.”

Location: London
Architect: Emil Eve Architects
Main contractor: Tuga Contractors
Joinery: Harbour Joinery Workshop
Species: European oak, birch ply (Lativa), Accoya

Private Winner

The Boathouse

The judges selected The Boathouse as the Private winner. Judge Kirsten Haggart comments, “A fabulous hand-built home with a wonderful story. The use of local materials, except for the two Canadian spruce trees, and local labour overseen by the owner, a craftsman with attention detail and a rigour in his approach, make this a worthy winner.”

Location: Devon
Architect: Adams Collingwood Architects
Client & main builder: Mr & Mrs T Stone
Structural engineer: Paul Carpenter Associates
Joinery: Rozen Furniture
Wood supplier: Stones Marine Timber
Landscape architects: Rathbone Partnership
Species: Douglas fir, yellow cedar, Sitka spruce (Canada)

Small Project Winner

Built: East Pavilion

Built: East Pavilion is this year’s Small Project winner. Judge David Morley says, “We all know what a Belfast sink is but few of us knew what a Belfast truss was until we were presented with this project. This modest project deserves recognition for how it uses timber to positively engage the community as a flexible place to move through, meet, mend bicycles or, initially, to hold an exhibition to remind the community of its heritage.”

Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
Architect: OGU Architects + Donald McCrory Architects
Client: EastSide Partnership
Structural engineer: O’Connor Sutton Cronin Consultant Engineers
Main contractor: Farrans Construction
Joinery & wood supplier: BPJ Group
Timber Distributor: International Timber
Roof engineering and installation: Fabrite
Concrete: Moore Concrete Products
Species: Accoya

Structural Award Winner

The Welcome Building RHS Garden Bridgewater

The Structural Award winner is The Welcome Building RHS Garden Bridgewater, chosen from all the shortlisted buildings. Judge Andrew Lawrence comments, “An important new public building that uses the well detailed timber structure as the centrepiece of the architecture. The structural solution provides for the necessary long spans and openness, whilst creating a warm and dramatic interior space.”

Location: Manchester
Architect: Hodder + Partners
Client: The Royal Horticultural Society
Structural engineer: RoC Consulting
Main contractor: BAM Construction
Joinery: Reds Joinery Ltd
Wood supplier: Prowood Ltd, Stora Enso, Russwood
Roof manufacturer/installer: HESS Timber GmbH
Services engineer: Hoare Lea
Species: Siberian larch (Russia), European spruce (Germany/Austria)

Bespoke Winner

Gayles Farm 5

Gayles Farm 5 is this year’s Bespoke winner. The judges were impressed by the piece’s sculptural presence and how it celebrates movement. It highlights the preciousness of the material and draws the viewer in to examine its form and the quality of the individual pieces.

Designer/manufacturer: Wycliffe Stutchbury
Species: European oak

Production Winner

Iso-Lounge Chair

Iso-Lounge Chair was selected as this year’s Production winner. The Furniture & Product judges are particularly impressed by the standard of projects in this category. The judges praised the Iso-Lounge Chair’s accomplished making and extreme comfort. Judge Corinne Julius comments, “It has surprising merit in that it is a piece of sculpture that disappears when sat on.”

Designer: Jasper Morrison
Manufacturer: Isokon Plus
Wood supplier: Capital Crispin Veneers
Species: Silver birch (Russia), European beech and oak (Germany)

The buildings judging panel is led by Jim Greaves of Hopkins Architects. The panel includes Andrew Lawrence, Arup; Kirsten Haggart, Waugh Thistleton Architects; Nathan Wheatley, engenuiti; David Morley, David Morley Architects; architectural journalist Ruth Slavid; and Andy Trotman, Timberwright. The furniture and product panel is led by design critic, curator and journalist Corinne Julius. The panel includes Oliver Stratford, editor of Disegno magazine; Rod Wales of Wales & Wales; and previous winners Yael Mer of Raw-Edges, Eleanor Lakelin, and Sebastian Cox.

As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship. Major Sponsors are American Hardwood Export Council, Binderholz, The Carpenters’ Company and Timber Development UK. Other Sponsors include American Softwoods.

Join thousands of people who get the latest insights and stats from experts across the timber industry by subscribing to our newsletter, and by following us on Twitter and LinkedIn.


* indicates required